Damsel…

20120320-071908.jpg

Damsels (Libellidae) are a very important part of the trouts menu in all stages. I have been tying the body this way since I read Gary Borger´s “Designing Trout Flies” (1991). This is a version of his Braided Butt Damsel. I use CdC instead of hackle and I add a piece of blue foam to make it lighter and float better. His damsel nymph pattern from the same book is also a great fly. I will come back to the nymph later.

20120320-071920.jpg

Tie in a small piece of blue closed foam. In this fly I have used organza for the wing, but antron yarn can also do the trick. The next step is to spin the CdC for the abdomen. I like to use Magic Tool for this process.

20120320-071932.jpg

Burn the end of the braided line a little. This will stop it from sliding of the hook after a few fish.

20120320-071946.jpg

Use a Pantone to add markings and colour to the braided line. Then push the braided line over the hook. This will make the fly last longer.

3 thoughts on “Damsel…

  1. We have lots of Libeloulas in our rivers. I have never tried one and I think most of the Greek fly fishermen haven’t or at least they don’t consider it in their top fishing flies. I definitely have to give it a try and try some variations of this, too. But I have to wait until summer !

  2. ps. Gary Borger is my first fly fishing instructor. ‘Fly Fishing for Trout with Gary Borger’ was the first movie I saw on YouTube about fly fishing and I still consider it as one of the best movies for begginers. He shows equipment, casting techniques, how to read the water, how to release fish back, how to pick flies (etc)… with the most detailed way. I really love this guy !!!

  3. Thanks for commenting! Yes, you should give it a try. I think it´s great fun and especially when they hit on the adult insects. I never had any sucess in fast flowing streams/rivers with these flies. I fish them mostly in lakes/tarns with lots of vegetation…the trout around here really goes crazy sometimes…G.Borger is a great fly fisherman!

Leave a Reply

