The Return of The Flymph…

There is a lot of talk about flymphs on different blogs these days, so I thought I´d join in. Flymphs was an important part of my early years of tying. Soft-hackles, spiders & flymphs are all easy to tie, they are simple and beautiful flies. The term flymphs was introduced by Vernon S.”Pete” Hidy. I got my introduction from the great swedish tyer Lennart Bergquist. I have not fished them that much the last seasons. Depending on size and colour this fly may imitate several hatching insects. I enjoy the sense of belonging to a tradition I get when I fish these flies. There is a certain ancient aura to them. They are also very easy and cheap to tie, so they are great for a beginner. I also found this great site about flymphs,spiders and soft-hackles: http://www.williamsfavorite.com/

The flies pictured here are the ones that are going to fill a corner of my box this summer:

20120401-122400.jpg

Possum Flymph

20120401-122408.jpg

Quill Flymph

20120401-122415.jpg

Black & Red Flymph

20120401-122421.jpg

Hare´s Ear Flymph

7 thoughts on “The Return of The Flymph…

  1. Great flies Vegard! What is the hackle you use on the first and 4th fly and what kind of hook is that? Thank you! I have to give soft hackle flies more time on the river…

  2. Thanks again! The hackle is just ordinary indian hen. I bought a lot of them years ago, they have very nice colouring. The hook is TMC 206BL…a super and aesthetic barbless hook. Same with me, I used to fish these flies a lot and caught lots of fish on them. I am going to give them a revival this year.

  3. Vergardfly, thanks for the reference to my site. I have enjoyed being a part of a group of devoted Flymph fishermen, and if you’ve been on FlymphForum.com, you know there are quite a few who enjoy fishing and exploring the extent of their applications, as well as the history of the flies, Jim Leisenring and Pete Hidy. I have a lot planned for the site, and have been slow in fleshing out all the information I would like to include. Honestly the list grows faster than the site is updated. I’ll get there. Thanks again for the comments. I love seeing your flymphs and expect you’ll do very well. Your flies remind me of a blend between the North Country Spiders and Flymphs, which is exactly where I tend to find my own leanings. A more sparse body, longer hackle Flymph.

    Please keep your excellent work on this site. I look forward to following your progress on such a broad number of topics.

    Cheers,

    William

  4. Vergardfly,
    You have chosen a very good site to show off what can be done with these flies. Your flies are equally wonderful. I have been tying and fishing these flies for many years, and using and tying them never grows old.

  5. Pingback: Fly Tying: Sparser Dressings Provoke | SwittersB & Fly Fishing

  6. Those are nice flymphs, Vegard! Very nice, and of course, they’ll take fish. There was an event here in the states on 25 May at the Catskill Fly Fishing Museum; a panel of tiers tying flymphs, including Pete Hidy’s son, Lance. Good post and nice flies!

Leave a Reply

