Nelson & Mikulak…

20120506-085928.jpg

The Mikulak Sedge

20120506-085941.jpg

Nelson Caddis (Elk Hair style)

20120506-085951.jpg

My “original” Nelson Caddis. Wing made from norwegian roe deer.

20120506-085957.jpg
The last few days a number of people have found my site searching for the Nelson Caddis. My earlier post on this fly has a tiny photo,so I thought it would be good with a new one. The Nelson is a great pattern for the larger caddis. It works on both stillwater and running water. I am not sure of the origin of this fly,but the style of the wing makes me think of some steelhead patterns I’ve seen. While browsing the net the other day I came across a very similar pattern named Mikulak Sedge. The creator of this pattern is a canadian named Art Mikulak. He created the fly in the 70’s. He cuts the hackle top and bottom,ties in a tail and uses seal’s fur for the body. He also leaves a stub of the elk hair in the front,like on the Elk Hair Caddis. This style of fly is very durable altough it takes time to tie compared to other caddis/sedge patterns.

Leave a Reply

