Tying Catskill-style…

I very often look to Mike Valla´s brilliant book “Tying Catskill-style Dry Flies”(2009) for inspiration. Everyone who is serious about tying and fishing Catskill-style patterns should read this. The last couple of weeks I have been occupied tying for a local shop. That means tying at least 20-30 of the same pattern every day,but I´m not good at keeping the numbers up anymore…(starting to get old). This morning I just had to tie something else. Tying flies inspired by this style has a relaxing effect on me. All tiers have their own style and their own way of doing things,and patterns develop around the world. I tend to tie my Catkills with a shorter hackle and they are dressed a bit more “bulky”. I also often tie them in darker colors. That´s simply because that style suits my fishing better. I tie them this way for the same reasons the Catskill-style developed inspired by english tying-styles. That is to make the flies suitable for and effective in my area or region of the world,or wherever else I might be fishing. Hooks here are TMC 531 sz.13 and TMC 100 sz. 12.

4 thoughts on “Tying Catskill-style…

Leave a Reply

