Nymph of the week – Montana

Montana 1

Where would I be without Montana? This pattern functioned as my saviour in my early days as a fly fisherman. It helped me through the great frustration and despair of not catching anything. If I remember correctly this was the fly that gave me my first trout on a fly rod. The last few years it has almost been forgotten in a corner of my nymph box. The pattern was created for the big rivers of Montana as a stonefly nymph. I have always used it as an attractor, and I tie it in many different colors, even with rubber legs at times. It works great on norwegian stillwaters, and I vary the retrieve from very slow to quick short moves. This pattern needs a lot of weight. I also tend to use a larger hackle than the original pattern. The reason is to give the fly more movement when fished in stillwaters…

Montana 2

Montana 3Chartreuse Montana with marabou tail…

Leave a Reply

