Bugger…

There are thousands of variants of the Wooly Bugger out there. Here is one more. I tie this one for sea trout. This pattern is essential in your box. This post is also a test using the ipad for photos. It’s not a real sbs, but I want to see if it works.

Tie in a good bunch of marabou. Adjust the lenght and tie in a piece of mono (thin). The mono will be used for securing the hackle later. I use mottled marabou for this one. Thread is red UNI. 

Prepare the hackle as shown in here. I use a hackle from the back of a grizzly-neck.

Tie the hackle tip down and secure with some varnish. 

Dub the body with dubbing of choice. I use uv ice dubbing here. Remember to leave room for the eyes in front. Tie in the bead chain eyes.


Wrap the hackle evenly and follow with the mono. Try not to tie down to many hackle fibers. It can be fixed later, but still. I use epoxy for the head of the fly.

Leave a comment